Delta drastically changes mileage earning for 2015

Today, Delta announced some HUGE changes to its SkyMiles program. Since I don’t blog during my client’s time, this post has to be super-short. Expect a more detailed post in a few days with my take on this change. This post contains the high-level overview.

Instead of earning miles based on mileage flown, customers will now earn frequent flyer miles based on amount spent on Delta tickets:

  • General members earn 5 miles/dollar
  • Silver members earn 7 miles/dollar
  • Gold members earn 8 miles/dollar
  • Platinum members earn 9 miles/dollar
  • Diamond members earn 11 miles/dollar

Delta will also change the way miles are redeemed, introducing one-way awards, a new award calendar, miles+cash awards, and several new award ticket redemption levels. Delta is NOT introducing direct revenue-based award redemption ala Southwest Rapid Rewards.

Earning Medallion status will be the same as it is in 2014.

For more details, watch this space or visit Delta’s website:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s